Will My Insurance Go Up After a DUI?

In Florida, as in other states, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge. If convicted, a DUI carries severe penalties, even for first time offenders.  There are many problems that may haunt you well after a DUI conviction, including an increase in your insurance. You may also have your driver’s license suspended for a period of time. Florida uses a point system for keeping track of moving violations. Typically, a DUI is only one of several charges that occur together – you’re usually stopped for some type of traffic infraction and are subsequently found to have been driving while intoxicated.

DUI Charges

A charge of DUI isn’t a conviction – yet. No matter the circumstances, you can fight DUI charges and protect your rights. There are two parts of handling DUI charges. First, your driver’s license will be suspended by the DHSMV. You can request a hearing to review your suspension as long as you do so within the first 10 days after the DUI arrest. The second part of the charges are criminal and are handled in court. DUI is a criminal offense that carries separate penalties. Once the DUI case is completed in court, the DHSMV will abide by the penalties provided by the judge. This may include further suspension or even revocation of your driver’s license.

DUI Penalties

If convicted, a DUI carries penalties that may include fines, jail time, and suspension of driving privileges. The penalties will increase for several reasons. For example, if there was an accident with injuries or with damages to property, the penalties go up. In addition to the criminal penalties you’ll face if convicted, you can also expect your insurance rates to increase. In fact, some people have reported increases of more than 200% over their regular rates. You may also need to be worried about being able to get insurance at all. Some insurance companies will drop you if you’ve been convicted of a DUI. It’s important to note that in Florida you must carry insurance – failure to have insurance will result in a suspension of your driver’s license.

What is FR 44 Insurance?

FR-44 insurance is a type of insurance specifically designed to conform to Florida laws in regards to insurance. After a DUI conviction your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of time. You must provide proof of insurance in order to have your license reinstated. FR-44 insurance will provide you with the minimum insurance options necessary to comply with state laws. Because you will be considered a high risk driver, your insurance premiums will go up. FR-44 is a form that indicates compliance. You must maintain specific liability limits of 100/300/50. This means that you must carry insurance that covers $100,000 per person, $300,000 each occurrence, and $50,000 in property damage coverage.

What You Can Do

If you’ve been charged with DUI it is your right to fight to protect your rights. An experienced DUI attorney will be able to assist in providing the best possible defense against these serious charges. A charge of DUI means you aren’t yet convicted. A lawyer will review your case and may be able to have your charges reduced or even eliminated. The sooner you get your attorney involved, the better your chances will be of a favorable result. A DUI conviction can have long lasting negative effects on your life so it’s worthwhile to do everything necessary to have the situation resolved in a positive manner.