Orlando Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
When you are involved in an accident – even if it was not your fault – while under the influence of alcohol, the penalties involved grow exponentially when compared to a stand alone DUI charge. For this type of charge, you need a qualified criminal defense attorney with a wealth of experience in handling DUI matters. Florida’s laws regarding automobile accidents involving alcohol are layered and complex, so not any attorney will do. You need one who understands the different aspects of the charges against you so he can defend your rights and make sure you are not charged with a worse offense than you have actually committed.
If anyone in your vehicle or the other vehicle was injured, your possible penalties will jump with the severity of those injuries. The state of Florida breaks DUI vehicular accidents into three levels of severity: injury, serious bodily injury and, when death is involved, manslaughter. A conviction for DUI-related serious bodily injury is a third degree felony, punishable by up to five years in jail and $5,000 fine. DUI/manslaughter is a second degree felony in Florida, carrying with it a fine of up to $10,000 and 15 years in jail.
Protect Your Rights, Call an Orlando Drunk Driving Accident Attorney
There is too much at stake for you to face these kinds of charges on your own. If you operated a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol and an accident resulted, you need experienced professional help as soon as possible. A qualified DUI defense attorney can make a huge difference in reducing the charges against you, depending on potentially mitigating factors involved in your case. The sooner you involve us, the more difference we can make.