What Happens with A Hit and Run Charge?

In Florida, the law states that anyone involved in an accident that involves property damage or personal injury must stop and exchange information. The law states that you have a duty to give information and render aid. Leaving the scene of an accident is considered a criminal act in Florida. The punishment depends on the severity of the act. A minor accident is usually charged as a misdemeanor while an accident that involves injury or death will likely be charged as a felony. As a Florida driver you are required to provide the following information after an accident:

  • Name
  • Address
  • Registration
  • License information

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Any time that you are involved in an accident you must stop or you will face charges of hit and run. This includes having contact with an unattended vehicle. When the vehicle is unattended you have a duty to provide your information and leave it in a place where the other driver will find it. If you have been involved in an accident with injuries you must stop and render aid or call 911. If you fail to stop, the police may find you based on witness reports, surveillance video, or other means. The police will track you down and can make an immediate arrest based on leaving the scene of an accident. The best thing to do if you have had an accident is to get help from an attorney and turn yourself in to police. It is recommended that you have an attorney present when you speak to law enforcement officials.

Defending Hit and Run Charges

If you have been in a hit and run accident you should seek legal assistance immediately. Even though the accident may have been minor, you will face much more serious charges when you fail to stop after the incident occurred.  If convicted you may face penalties that include:

  • Misdemeanor – Accident involves property damage only. Punishable with up to 60 days in jail and up to $500 in fines.
  • Felony – Accident involves injury or death. Punishable with a sentence of up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
  • Additionally, you may be ordered to pay restitution to the other driver and your driver’s license may be revoked.


Many people make poor decisions after suffering a stressful situation. One bad decision should not have to haunt you forever.  An experienced attorney will be able to assist you in defending the charges against you to get a successful outcome.

  • Category: DUI