Call Today for a Free Consultation
Call Us 24 hours / 7 days a week

Criminal Defense

Orlando theft
defense attorney

Orlando theft defense attorney

Theft crimes include larceny, burglary, robbery and armed robbery, fraud, carjacking and vehicle theft, identify theft, credit card theft, embezzlement — and even shoplifting. If you’re convicted, the stakes are high. Even misdemeanors are serious charges and can leave you with a criminal record.
The attorneys at Katz & Phillips can construct a defense for you that we can use to try to get an acquittal, or have the charges against you dropped or possibly reduced so you suffer less penalties. We’ve successfully defended countless people just like you, faced with a conviction for a theft crime. Call us today for a consultation so we can discuss how to best approach your problem.

In Florida, the crime of burglary is as much about where you committed the offense as what you may have taken or done while you were there. You open yourself up to a burglary charge whenever you enter a building or vehicle that’s not yours with the intention of breaking the law.

If you have anything on you at the time that qualifies as a weapon, the charge jumps to a first degree felony. If you injure another person while you’re there, through direct assault or battery, this is also a first degree felony. Likewise, if you cause any damage or harm to the premises, this is also a first degree felony charge in the state of Florida.

There is a huge difference between the penalties incurred by a first degree felony charge and a third degree felony charge. You need an attorney who can create a strong defense for you and maximize this difference to your benefit.

The legal team at Katz & Phillips has handled a wide range of burglary cases with all sorts of extenuating circumstances. Don’t accept a greater penalty than you deserve. Call the attorneys at Katz & Phillips today so we can get to work on your case and make sure your punishment is just.

Under Florida law, carjacking is defined as taking control of someone’s vehicle when without their consent. You will face a felony charge if you are convicted of carjacking. Carjacking is classified as a robbery offense; meaning you could face life in prison if you had a weapon on you at the time. Even if you did not have a weapon on you at the time of the incident, you could still be looking at up to 30 years of incarceration.

In a court of law, the pivotal point may come down to whether or not the owner felt he was in danger. If the owner gave up his car because he thought you might hurt him if he didn’t, this is carjacking. But what if you thought you had his consent? What if it was an emergency, a life-or-death situation, and you needed a vehicle? Sometimes there may be extenuating circumstances and mitigating factors.

You need a qualified and experienced criminal defense attorney to make sense of the particular factors involved in your case and bring them to the attention of the court. A qualified attorney can make sure you have a parole hearing sooner rather than later.

In the state of Florida, employee theft is generally considered a “white collar crime,” which means it is a crime committed by someone in a professional position or in a position of trust.

Unfortunately, because of stereotypes surrounding “white collar criminals,” judges and prosecutors tend to be harsh when it comes to dealing with cases of employee theft in Orlando. Further, diversionary programs that allow you to avoid a permanent record of your criminal conviction often are not available when you’ve been accused of employee theft. So it’s crucial to retain a knowledgeable attorney like the ones you will find at Katz & Phillips to help you achieve a desirable outcome.

The state of Florida is particularly tough on individuals charged with robbery. Robbery covers a wide range of acts; it can mean anything from snatching money from someone’s hand to taking their vehicle. Under the law, when you take something from someone that rightfully belongs to them, it is considered theft.

When you enter a building to take property, it is considered burglary. When you take something from someone by force or threat, the act becomes considered robbery. Robbery is the most serious offense because it involves threat and potential harm to another human being.

In Florida’s criminal code, shoplifting is referred to as “retail theft.” Code Section 812.015 provides details on the crime of shoplifting, which can include:

  • Taking possession of merchandise without paying.
  • Carrying away merchandise with intent to deprive its owner of its value.
  • Changing or removing labels, UPC codes, or price tags on merchandise.
  • Moving merchandise from one container to another.
  • Taking a shopping cart.

A defendant does not have to be successful at stealing items to be charged with shoplifting. Concealing items to carry them away or making an attempt to take items from the store can result in conviction. If convicted, the consequences are going to vary depending upon the dollar value of the goods allegedly taken.

The amount of money that you stole and the method by which you stole it will play the biggest role in determining which of these charges you face. The value of the stolen goods is also determinative in assessing what your potential sentence might be if you are convicted.

  • Petty theft — if the property is worth less than $300 — is a misdemeanor.
  • Anything worth more than $300, but less than $20,000, is third degree grand theft. All three are felony charges.
  • If the value is between $20,000 and $100,000, it’s second degree grand theft.
  • If the property you took is worth more than $100,000, the charge is first degree grand theft.

Our theft defense attorneys are here to help

If you’ve been charged with one of these offenses, you need an advocate on your side, an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney who can work through the factors of your case and use them to make a difference.

Call Katz & Phillips today.

Associations & Accolades
James Phillips and David Katz are both Board Certified DUI Defense Experts. In fact they are two of only four Board Certified DUI Defense Experts practicing in the State of Florida.